"Kraft Foods products are labeled with very specific ingredient information to help you make accurate and informed choices. If a Kraft Foods product has an ingredient that is a source of gluten, the specific grain will be listed in the ingredient statement, even when present in small amounts.
"For labeling purposes, Kraft Foods products made with:
- A gluten-containing grain as a direct ingredient will list the specific grain using commonly known terms such as 'wheat, barley, rye and/or oats.' For example: 'wheat flour.'
- A source of gluten as a component of another ingredient such as flavors or modified food starch, will list the grain in parentheses after the ingredient in the ingredient line. For example, 'natural flavor (contains rye).'
"A small number of Kraft Foods products are labeled as 'gluten-free' according to the proposed definition by the Food and Drug Administration (FDA). These are: Crystal Light, Kool-Aid and Tang powdered soft drinks and some Back to Nature rice crackers. We take this claim seriously and for such products, we are assured there is no unintentional contact with gluten during every step of the agricultural growing, transportation and manufacturing process.
"You might notice that many additional Kraft Foods products may have ingredient statements that do not list a source of gluten, but without the extremely specialized procedures in place to diligently validate gluten purity, we do not label the finished product as gluten-free. In this way, we are very serious and thorough when labeling products as gluten-free."